Mary's Mountain

 

 

My futuristic novelette, MARY'S MOUNTAIN, is now available on Amazon Kindle. It will be in available in paperback in November. The novelette's story is about a teacher turned famous author--Paul Dunaway-- and his struggle to re-shape his affluent but joyless life, while opposing forces in the out-of-control, politically correct America he helped to create, literally take him down.

 

MARY'S MOUNTAIN is a story of Tolerance taken to the extreme.

 

Much of what happens in the story of MARY'S MOUNTAIN is already happening today. Please make yourself aware of what Tolerance really is, as opposed to the malicious propaganda masquerading as Tolerance, and the gush perpetrated by many of our leaders for their own agendas.

 

Please read, too, the following excerpts from "A Plea for Intolerance," written by Fulton J. Sheen, one of the greatest theologians of the Twentieth Century, and so accurate for today.

 

A PLEA FOR INTOLERANCE


"America is suffering not so much from intolerance, which is bigotry, as it is from tolerance, which is indifference to truth and error, and a philosophical nonchalance that has been interpreted as broad‐mindedness. Greater tolerance, of course, is desirable, for there can never be too much charity shown to persons who differ with us. Our Blessed Lord Himself asked that we ʺlove those who calumniate for us,ʺ for they are always persons, but He never told us to love the calumny."

---

"In the face of this false broad‐mindedness, what the world needs is intolerance. The mass of people have kept up hard and fast distinctions between dollars and cents, battleships and cruisers, ʺYou owe meʺ and ʺI owe you,ʺ but they seem to have lost entirely the faculty of distinguishing between the good and the bad, the right and the wrong. The best indication of this is the frequent misuse of the terms ʺtoleranceʺ and ʺintolerance.ʺ There are some minds that believe that intolerance is always wrong, because they make ʺintoleranceʺ mean hate, narrow‐ mindedness, and bigotry. These same minds believe that tolerance is always right because, for them, it means charity, broad‐mindedness, American good nature."

‐‐‐

"What is tolerance? Tolerance is an attitude of reasoned patience towards evil, and a forbearance that restrains us from showing anger or inflicting punishment. But what is more important than the definition is the field of its application. The important point here is this: Tolerance applies only to persons, but never to truth. Intolerance applies only to truth, but never to persons. Tolerance applies to the erring; intolerance to the error."

---

"The government must be intolerant about malicious propaganda.Tolerance does not apply to truth or principles. About these things we must be intolerant, and for this kind of intolerance, so much needed to rouse us from sentimental gush, I make a plea. Intolerance of this kind is the foundation of all stability."

Here's where you can enter in text. Feel free to edit, move, delete or add a different page element.

 

 

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley's novel, A Hunger in the Heart, is a story of hope, forgiveness, and redemption. It's a great read in the tradition of southern fiction."

Winston Groom, Author of Forrest Gump and Shiloh, 1862

 

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley is a writer with a sensitive ear and a keenly developed sympathy for her characters.  Her debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart, marks the beginning of a promising career in the  world of fiction. 

 

Mark Childress, author of Georgia Bottoms and Crazy in Alabama

 

 

"In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor, Robert Penn Warren, & Walker Percy, A Hunger in the Heart by Kaye Park Hinckley brings alive the south and the search for meaning and forgiveness."

 

Peter Mongeau, Publisher, Tuscany Press

 



Free Article and Short Story for Readers

A lot has been said recently about The Catholic Imagination. If you'd like me to send you an PDF article with my own views concerning The Catholic Imagination, please go to my Contact page and request it.

 

If you'd like me to send you the PDF file of one of my short stories, not yet published, please ask for it as well on my Contact page. Don't forget your email address.

Free Secret Recipes

If you'd like the secret of my grandmother's SWEET TEA,  or my mother's easy recipe for DOTHAN PECAN PIE, or my own recipe for FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, just ask for one or all of them on my contact page!