I am a Southerner, a native of Alabama, and proud of it. I love the manners and strength of her people. I love her sense of family and God. 

St. Columba Catholic Church, Dothan, AL
St. Louis Cathedral, New Orleans

 ...prepared in Southern kitchens, found in Farmer’s Markets, small groceries, sweet-smelling bakeries, and intimate restaurants. And yes, I love it fried!

...with one of most diverse terrains in the world. Her mystifying mountains, her rich black belt, and her gorgeous Gulf Coast; with sand like sugar and crystal water; bright blues, greens, and purples. I love her intricate caves and rivers, her inviting lakes and ponds, her varied wildlife. Her Azaleas, Camellias, Gardenias, and Magnolias. 

Ebenezer Swamp

...where Alabama ghosts come alive, where things must be considered, and not rushed into. I love the haze over a fishing creek at dawn, or a shadowy swamp turned from fearful to glorious in the stealthy light of the sun.

Links of interest:

http://blog.al.com/strange-alabama/2012/04/ebenezer_swamp_an_ecological_g.html    http://ghostinvestigator.tripod.com/alabama.g.i.s/ 

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley's novel, A Hunger in the Heart, is a story of hope, forgiveness, and redemption. It's a great read in the tradition of southern fiction."

Winston Groom, Author of Forrest Gump and Shiloh, 1862

 

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley is a writer with a sensitive ear and a keenly developed sympathy for her characters.  Her debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart, marks the beginning of a promising career in the  world of fiction. 

 

Mark Childress, author of Georgia Bottoms and Crazy in Alabama

 

 

"In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor, Robert Penn Warren, & Walker Percy, A Hunger in the Heart by Kaye Park Hinckley brings alive the south and the search for meaning and forgiveness."

 

Peter Mongeau, Publisher, Tuscany Press

 



Free Article and Short Story for Readers

A lot has been said recently about The Catholic Imagination. If you'd like me to send you an PDF article with my own views concerning The Catholic Imagination, please go to my Contact page and request it.

 

If you'd like me to send you the PDF file of one of my short stories, not yet published, please ask for it as well on my Contact page. Don't forget your email address.

Free Secret Recipes

If you'd like the secret of my grandmother's SWEET TEA,  or my mother's easy recipe for DOTHAN PECAN PIE, or my own recipe for FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, just ask for one or all of them on my contact page!