My debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart, publsihed by Tuscany Press, and my short story collection, Birds of a Feather, published by Wiseblood Books are now available at fine bookstores, such as The Garden District Bookshop in New Orleans, http://www.gardendistrictbookshop.com  

News

THE WIND THAT SHAKES THE CORN: Memoirs of a Scots Irish Woman

Coming January 2018

                                     THE WIND THAT SHAKES THE CORN

STIRRING EPIC OF LOVE vs. REVENGE

FIRST RUNNER-UP: Josiah W. Bancroft Award at the Florida First Coast Writer's Festival

FINALIST: Pirates Alley Society Faulkner/Wisdom Competition

Beginning in eighteenth century Ireland and then set against the background of a burgeoning America, The Wind That Shakes the Corn tells the story of the feistiness of Scots Irish immigrants, and the heart-held faith and courage that led their struggle toward individualism in America. Nell Dugan's hatred, but also her love and determination, spotlights the Irish, both Protestant and Catholic, who bring to Revolutionary America age-old grudges against longtime English rule.

On Nell's wedding night in Ireland, English soldiers abduct her from the arms of her Scottish Lord and throw her on a ship, slave-fodder for a West Indies sugar plantation. But Nell uses her beauty and cunning to seduce the plantation owner's son who sneaks her away to pre-revolutionary Philadelphia where she agrees to marry him, keeping secret her marriage to the Scottish lord she truly loves, and swearing to pay back the English not only for her own kidnapping but also for her mother's hanging two decades earlier.

PRAISE:   

"Kaye Hinckley writes deeply textured stories with a distinctive voice. Characters caught up in complex relationships, seeking yet often rejecting redemption." --Arthur Powers, A Hero for the People

 

"A talented and sensitive Catholic writer whose complex stories are gripping, memorable, and abounding in nourishment for readers hungry for substantial Christian fiction. –The Catholic World Report

 

"The reader is delighted by beautiful prose, then challenged to examine the longings of the soul. In the process he learns about faith. --Dr.  Ron O'Gorman, MD,"Fatal Rhythm

My short story collection, Birds of a Feather, was chosen as one of the top 25 best books of the first half of 2014 by Englewood Review of Books!  Englewood Review of Books 

My new, and yet unpublished novel, FAITHFUL, won First Runner Up in Poets & Writers 2014 Maureen Egen Writers Exchange Contest.

A Hunger in the Heart was used as a theme for The Saint Louis Marian Conference in January, 2015.

 

"Love isn't a symbol. It's an irritant, and it will cost you some skin!"

... The words of Sarah Neal Bridgeman in A Hunger in the Heart.

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley's novel, A Hunger in the Heart, is a story of hope, forgiveness, and redemption. It's a great read in the tradition of southern fiction."

Winston Groom, Author of Forrest Gump and Shiloh, 1862

 

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley is a writer with a sensitive ear and a keenly developed sympathy for her characters.  Her debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart, marks the beginning of a promising career in the  world of fiction. 

 

Mark Childress, author of Georgia Bottoms and Crazy in Alabama

 

 

"In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor, Robert Penn Warren, & Walker Percy, A Hunger in the Heart by Kaye Park Hinckley brings alive the south and the search for meaning and forgiveness."

 

Peter Mongeau, Publisher, Tuscany Press

 



Free Article and Short Story for Readers

A lot has been said recently about The Catholic Imagination. If you'd like me to send you an PDF article with my own views concerning The Catholic Imagination, please go to my Contact page and request it.

 

If you'd like me to send you the PDF file of one of my short stories, not yet published, please ask for it as well on my Contact page. Don't forget your email address.

Free Secret Recipes

If you'd like the secret of my grandmother's SWEET TEA,  or my mother's easy recipe for DOTHAN PECAN PIE, or my own recipe for FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, just ask for one or all of them on my contact page!