About My Writing

     There are some fiction writers who perceive people as good because God made them to be like Him. I am one of them.

     I also recognize free will. We can choose not to be like Him, and even choose not follow Him. But the job of a writer who sees people as coming from God, is to translate His goodness in some concrete form for her readers; and that is a difficult job in our world today because many don’t believe in a Creator, and others don’t see our world as good. So what is such a writer to do?

     First, I believe this sort of writer will have strong emotion about current events where goodness is not: The murder of children. Debilitating disease. Sadistic, sexual perversion. Dishonesty. Meanness, and on and on--just check ‘I choose not to follow” on each of The Ten Commandments. The question then becomes, “Can God, our Creator, be found where goodness is not?”

     Yes. And He is powerful enough to draw out goodness from atrocities that emanate because of the misuse of human free will.

     In this writer’s imagination, there is a link between the divinity of God (the supernatural world) with the natural world. The task becomes that of interlocking the two. Representations are created, and specific truths about God’s presence in our world appear in the writer’s mind. She translates it in her settings, characters, and dilemmas. And what she translates is a tenet called grace, both Sanctifying Grace and Actual Grace. Sanctifying Grace, inherited from the God who made us, lives in the soul and stays in the soul. By contrast, Actual grace doesn’t live in the soul; rather, throughout a lifetime, it acts in the soul as divine pushes from God toward His goodness. But those pushes require cooperation. The translating writer understands that a person must accept grace on his own free will; and grace, like love, is sometimes prickly.

     A writer who translates grace in a world on edge, sees a double beginning and ending in everything, and I mean everything, including the awful, current events mentioned above. Along with this, she realizes that knowing ‘reasons why’ is a human characteristic. She perceives a cause, and an effect that creates another cause, and effect, and so on into infinity. Stories are discovered in her imagination and brought to light by a very intimate flashlight, one that shines a light on the many causes and effects of free will, and on the causes and effects of grace; both working, and often conflicting, in the same human soul.

About Me

My husband George and I at the Pink House in Savannah, Georgia

Name: Kaye Hinckley
Hometown: Dothan, Alabama
Graduate of Spring Hill College, Mobile, AL. Creative writing: University of Alabama.

ROLL TIDE!
Hobbies: Writing, (more than a hobby!) Painting, Grandchildren!
Music: Classical and Country
Movies: Love the old black and whites 
Languages: English, un peu French

My motto: God loves you madly, so let Him.

 

Second Place winner for Novel, Florida's First Coast Writing Festival, 2007 for The Wind That Shakes the Corn. Finalist, Semi-finalist, and Honorable Mentions in The William Faulkner/William Wisdom  Competition, Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition, and Alabama Conclave of Writers Contest. Third-place winner, and Honorable Mention for Short Stories in 2012 Tuscany Prize Collection

My debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart, published by Tuscany Press. Short Stories Published by Tuscany Press, Dappled Things, The State Street Review, The Woodrider. 

 

I'm a weekly contributor on The Catholic Mom Website. Have a look!

 

Tuscany Press, LLC

Tuscany Press is the publisher of Kaye Park Hinckley's debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart.  An integral part of the Catholic literary Revival, Tuscany Press is dedicated to Catholic Fiction and sponsor of Tuscany prize for Catholic Fiction. Tuscany Press publishes stories with human frailties, beauty, grace, love, redemption, hope, courage and -the presence of God.

Dappled Things

Mary, Queen of Angels 2011

Dappled Things is publisher of Red Bird, a short story by Kaye Park Hinckley. (Mary, Queen of Angels issue, 2011. Another of Hinckley's short stories, Dragon, is included in the Candlemas 21013 issue.  

Dappled Things is a literary magazine dedicated to providing a space for emerging writers to engage the literary world from a Catholic perspective. The magazine is committed to quality writing that takes advantage of the religious, theological, philosophical, artistic, cultural, and literary heritage of the Catholic Church in order to inform and enrich contemporary literary culture.

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley's novel, A Hunger in the Heart, is a story of hope, forgiveness, and redemption. It's a great read in the tradition of southern fiction."

Winston Groom, Author of Forrest Gump and Shiloh, 1862

 

 

"Kaye Park Hinckley is a writer with a sensitive ear and a keenly developed sympathy for her characters.  Her debut novel, A Hunger in the Heart, marks the beginning of a promising career in the  world of fiction. 

 

Mark Childress, author of Georgia Bottoms and Crazy in Alabama

 

 

"In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor, Robert Penn Warren, & Walker Percy, A Hunger in the Heart by Kaye Park Hinckley brings alive the south and the search for meaning and forgiveness."

 

Peter Mongeau, Publisher, Tuscany Press

 



Free Article and Short Story for Readers

A lot has been said recently about The Catholic Imagination. If you'd like me to send you an PDF article with my own views concerning The Catholic Imagination, please go to my Contact page and request it.

 

If you'd like me to send you the PDF file of one of my short stories, not yet published, please ask for it as well on my Contact page. Don't forget your email address.

Free Secret Recipes

If you'd like the secret of my grandmother's SWEET TEA,  or my mother's easy recipe for DOTHAN PECAN PIE, or my own recipe for FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, just ask for one or all of them on my contact page!